Wealden District Council

Wealden Home  >  Council  >  Councillors and Committees  >  Democracy  >  About the Elected Council

About the Elected Council

The Council has 55 District Councillors elected in 35 Wards. There are also 35 Parish Councils, 4 Town Councils and 3 Parish Meetings within the District and 14 County Councillors. The District is divided into four Parliamentary constituencies and is part of the South East Region for the European Parliament.

Elections are held every four years for all seats, the next Election is May 2019.  Following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, the Council size will be reduced to 45 at the next elections in 2019.

Political Composition of the Council

  • Conservatives 48
  • Independent Democrats 4
  • Wealden Independents 3

The Conservative Group has overall control of the Council.

Who's Who

The Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Leader of the Council are appointed on an yearly basis at the Annual Meeting of the Council usually held in May.

How to become a Councillor

If you are interested in becoming a District Councillor, you may find our  Do you want to be a Councillor? webpage useful.

If you are interested in becoming a Parish Councillor, you would need to contact your local Parish Council for more information.

Contact Democratic Services