Wealden District Council

Wealden Home  >  Residents  >  Planning and Building Control  >  Heritage  >  Conservation Areas  >  Conservation Areas

Conservation Areas

What are Conservation Areas?

Local planning authorities are obliged to designate as Conservation Areas any parts of their own area that are of special architectural or historic interest, the character and appearance of which is desirable to preserve or enhance. The first Conservation Areas were designated in 1967 and there are now over 8000 Conservation Areas in England.

There are 41 Conservation Areas within Wealden District, but 8 of these are located within and managed by the South Downs National Park Authority.

The 33 Conservation Areas within the part of Wealden District for which the Council is the Local Planning Authority were all designated by the Council in March 2017.

Additional Controls on development in conservation areas

There are additional controls in respect of development, works to trees and demolition in Conservation Areas, further information can be found on our extra planning controls in Conservation Areas webpage.

Conservation Area Character Appraisals and Management Plan

At present there are no Character Appraisal documents and Management Plans for the Conservation Areas, but the drafting of these documents is underway to articulate the special interest and character of each of the Conservation Areas to help inform planning decisions. Planning decisions affecting Conservation Areas should pay special attention to the desirability of preserving or preserving or enhancing the character or appearance of that area as per The Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990, Section 72 (external link).

Consultation on the Character Appraisal documents and Management Plan for each Area will take place prior to adoption by the Council.

    There are 8 Conservation Areas within that part of the District that now falls under the South Downs National Park as the Local Planning Authority and these are listed below:
  • Alciston 
  • Alfriston
  • Berwick
  • East Dean
  • Jevington
  • Litlington
  • West Dean
  • Wilmington

Please see the South Downs National Park Authority (external link) website for further details relating to these 8 designated Conservation Areas.