Wealden District Council

Wealden Home  >  Residents  >  Planning and Building Control  >  Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas  >  Conservation Areas  >  Conservation Areas

Conservation Areas

What are Conservation Areas?

Conservation Areas are areas of special architectural or historic character which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.

Does this provide added protection to the Area?

Yes, there are additional planning controls in designated Conservation Areas which includes:

  • Control over demolition of unlisted buildings and structures;
  • Control over works to trees which are not subject of a Tree Preservation Order;
  • Fewer types of advertisements with deemed consent;
  • Restriction on the types of development which can be carried out without the need for planning permission (permitted development rights), including roof extensions, cladding, satellite dishes on front elevations and some types of extensions.

Where are the Conservation Areas in Wealden?

There are 41 Conservation Areas within Wealden District, but some of these are located within the South Downs National Park.

There are 33 Conservation Areas within the part of Wealden District for which the Council is the Local Planning Authority and these are listed below. Each area has a link to the map showing the boundaries of the Conservation Area.

There are 8 Conservation Areas within that part of the District that now falls under the South Downs National Park as the Local Planning Authority and these are listed below:

  • Alciston
  • Alfriston
  • Berwick
  • East Dean
  • Jevington
  • Litlington
  • West Dean
  • Wilmington

Please see the South Downs National Park Authority (external link) website for further details relating to these 8 designated Conservation Areas.