Wealden District Council
You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer.
Parts of our website may display incorrectly or not work at all. Please consider downloading an up to date browser such as Chrome or Firefox.

Electoral Registers

How to check if you are already registered to vote

Every local authority holds the electoral register for their own area. There is no online electoral register. To find out if you are already on the electoral register, contact us by using the contact details at the bottom of the page.

How long will it take for my name to appear on the Electoral Register?*

The Electoral Register is updated once a month but it may take longer to be registered. Please see the table of dates below:-
Electoral Register Updates
We need to have received your application by If you are asked to provide further evidence, we need to have it by To include you in the register that’s published on
Monday 13 December 2021 Tuesday 21 December 2021 Tuesday 4 January 2022
Monday 10 January 2022 Tuesday 18 January 2022 Tuesday 1 February 2022
Monday 7 February 2022 Tuesday 15 February 2022 Tuesday 1 March 2022
Thursday 10 March 2022 Friday 18 March 2022 Friday 1 April 2022
Thursday 7 April 2022 Tuesday 19 April 2022 Tuesday 3 May 2022
Tuesday 10 May 2022 Wednesday 18 May 2022 Wednesday 1 June 2022
Thursday 9 June 2022 Friday 17 June 2022 Friday 1 July 2022
Friday 8 July 2022 Monday 18 July 2022 Monday 1 August 2022
Wednesday 10 August 2022 Thursday 18 August 2022 Thursday 1 September 2022
* The deadline to register to vote at a particular election is 12 working days before polling day.

How to view the electoral register

Our Reception is currently closed, please telephone 01892 602407 or email elections@wealden.gov.uk to make an appointment.

When I register to vote, will my details be passed on to marketing companies?

There are two registers. Why?

Using information received from the public, registration officers keep two registers the electoral register and the open register (also known as the edited register).

The electoral register

The electoral register lists the names and addresses of everyone who is registered to vote in public elections. The register is used for electoral purposes, such as making sure only eligible people can vote. It is also used for other limited purposes specified in law, such as:

  • detecting crime (e.g. fraud)
  • calling people for jury service
  • checking credit applications

The open register

The open register is an extract of the electoral register, but is not used for elections. It can be bought by any person, company or organisation. For example, it is used by businesses and charities to confirm name and address details.

Your name and address will be included in the open register unless you ask for them to be removed. Removing your details from the open register does not affect your right to vote.

If you are concerned that having your name or address on the register may affect your safety, there could be other options available to you. In certain circumstances, you can register without your name and address showing on the register.

You can also request that you be opted out at any time by contacting the Electoral Services Team using the contact details below. You must make it clear that you wish to opt out of the open register, and include your full name and address.