Wealden District Council
You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer.
Parts of our website may display incorrectly or not work at all. Please consider downloading an up to date browser such as Chrome or Firefox.

About the Elected Council

The Council has 45 District Councillors elected in 41 Wards. There are also 35 Parish Councils, 4 Town Councils and 3 Parish Meetings within the District and 14 County Councillors. The District is divided into four Parliamentary constituencies.

Elections are held every four years for all seats, the next Election is May 2027.

Political Composition of the Council

  • Liberal Democrats – 13
  • Green Party – 11
  • Conservatives  – 9
  • The Independent Group – 6
  • Independent Democrats – 4
  • Labour – 2

The Liberal Democrats and Green Party have formed ‘Alliance for Wealden’.

Who’s Who

  • Chair of the Council – Councillor Christina Coleman (Green Party)
  • Vice-Chair of the Council – Councillor Gavin Blake-Coggins (Liberal Democrats)
  • Leader of the Council, Leader of the Alliance for Wealden Group and Leader of the Liberal Democrats – Councillor James Partridge
  • Deputy Leader of the Council, Deputy Leader of the Alliance for Wealden Group and Leader of the Green Party – Councillor Rachel Millward
  • Leader of the Conservative Group – Councillor Ann Newton
  • Leader of the Independent Group – Councillor David White
  • Leader of the Independent Democrat Group – Councillor Stephen Shing
  • Leader of the Labour Group – Councillor Daniel Manvell